About Us

Amy Piñon


Bill Monteleone


Ben Henry

Vocals / Guitar / Songwriter

Justin Chan


David Hiller


Lui Williams


Our Story

Theory of Change (ToC) is a specific type of methodology for planning, participation, and evaluation that is used in companies, philanthropy, not-for-profit and government sectors to promote social change. Theory of Change defines long-term goals and then maps backward to identify necessary preconditions.

Theory of Change, a six-piece ensemble based in Seattle, WA, is a socially conscious folksy indie-rock ensemble producing pensive but powerful, thoughtful, and melodic songs about societal and personal growth.

Our name comes from our collective background as social activists seeking change for the good, at the intersection of music and social activism.

Theory of Change is led by Ben Henry, songwriter/singer/guitarist formerly of The Crud (Honolulu, HI) and Grim Smiley (Seattle). The group also features versatile vocalist Amy Piñon, accomplished jazz saxophonist Bill Monteleone, and classical cellist Justin Chan, progressive rock bassist David Hiller, and session drummer Lui Williams.

The band’s music and video content extends a keen message of change and growth — both in our society and individually. The ensemble believes in building better societal structures that allow everyone to have access to prosperity, and not just those with wealth and privilege.

But this is also a story of personal growth, as resiliency makes us stronger and we grow from our experiences along the way. Resiliency has been a tremendous theme in Ben’s life, as he has experienced the fallout of PTSD with his father from the Vietnam War, surviving a battle with Hodgkin’s Lymphoma, and a raging apartment fire.

“Music is a powerful thing,” Ben says. “Music can heal. It can bring people together. It can spur difficult but needed conversations. I still believe music and truly change the world.”

Ben cites as some of his musical influences Cobain, Lennon-McCartney, Grohl, Cuomo, Fat Mike, Vedder, Benny and Björn, Yorke, Bellamy, Black Francis, Gibbard, and Dylan.

In the news

November 14, 2018